Holy foreshadowing, Batman.

(Pun somewhat intended.)

Somewhere along the line things went from please-prop-my-eyes-open-with-toothpicks (I’ve mentioned I don’t like dry histories, yes?) to packing a ton of things in a very short section.

I can’t read through this and see a foreshadowing for the New Testament. Elisha restores a dead child to life. Elisha feeds the multitudes from a seemingly small portion. Elisha cures Naaman of his leprosy.

What’s interesting to me is that I always recall from Sunday school is the idea that Jesus’ miracles were wholly unique. Which…clearly is not entirely accurate. Even if the methods aren’t all necessarily the same, the idea of these sorts of miracles is clearly already established here. Fascinating.

Naaman is particularly interesting. He is so offended that the solution to his problems might be simple. But then, aren’t we all? Maybe it’s just me, but it is so infuriatingly frustrating to be angsting and agonizing over something and then to have someone look at you and say ‘well, why don’t you do x?’ like it’s the simplest thing in the world. It’s this strange combination of feeling belittled, stupid and not taken seriously all at once. With a side dose of disgruntled if you happen to be avoiding the simple solution because it isn’t one you want to do. So I can kind of sympathize with Naaman here.

I also find it amusing that this section may provide the most practical advice I’ve read thus far. I’m not generally one who believes that one can have every decision guided by the Bible (it’s not really a comprehensive instruction manual) but I do think there is some wisdom to this: if you’re out foraging for food and you don’t recognize something? Don’t eat it. It might kill you.

I’m pretty sure that advice is never bad.

