I was delighted to find here that I was actually already familiar with this reading (and not just the vague idea of it) when it came up. Granted, it was because it happened to be the reading some time back when I was serving as reader at church, but still.

I was kind of hoping it would make more sense the second time I read it.

It didn’t.

Elijah is taken up in a whirlwind of fire. Elisha sees it and inherits his master’s prophecy. But…Elijah is taken up in a whirlwind of fire.

I really can’t get past this.

I don’t know what it is about this particular bit that throws me, I can believe in the incarnation with no problem. The resurrection gets slightly more tricky but I’m perfectly willing to accept the actual resurrection concept with a fair amount of ease, even if I struggle with the meaning of it. Jacob wresting with an angel? I can work with that; wrestling with faith and God.

But Elijah getting taken up in a whirlwind of fire.

I don’t get it.

I understand the idea that Elijah is taken directly into Heaven, that much I grasp but..still. Whirlwind of fire. That just…really? A whirlwind of fire? It’s just so random. Impressive, to be sure, but also just completely out of nowhere.

Things to take on faith? Maybe. But I am still really puzzled by this one.

