I find I’m really struggling with blogging about the book of Genesis- I was mentioning this to Stephanie the other day. I’m caught between knowing these stories too well, and thus feeling as though I have nothing to say about them, and knowing too much about these stories, and thus getting all tied up in trying to say too much before throwing my hands up and walking away.

Genesis is just story after story after story, no pause for breath, no waiting for anyone to sort meaning out of the condensed narrative. It’s explanation and justification (largely after the fact, if we consider when these were written). None of which makes any of it invaluable, just… I have my own sister to fight with, I don’t need to read about Rachel and Leah. You know?

Here are the things that stand out to me in this last ten-fifteen chapters of Genesis-

– sibling rivalry is not a new thing.

– that said, family is more important than anything else. “Family” being not just bonds of blood, but all those in your “household” (which I think is more relevant these days in our much more splintered society).

– I love the poem style blessing in 49; I’ve never had a good grasp on the tribes of Israel (though if you’re interested, Peeling A Pomegranate has some great posts on it), and so I love this sort of metaphorical run-down.

– you really never know who G-d/ess is going to choose to speak to, or why, or how. I love the voice of G-d/ess coming in dreams- I dream very frequently and very vividly, and so it rings true to me. At the beginning of the movie The Last Temptation of Christ, the voice of G-d/ess in one’s head is compared very starkly to the feeling of being going insane, and I think we hear echoes of that in some of the ancestors dealings in Genesis. What is it like to hear the voice of the Divine when no one else is? What is it like when that voice won’t go away?

